Connecting to Internet

Discuss solutions for wired and wireless usage for sharing and Internet connectivity.

Connecting to Internet

Postby Guest » Sat Nov 22, 2008 5:46 pm

I'm having major problems accessing my own Westell Versalink327W Verizon router.
I can go on the Neighborhood and access someone elses wireless service but not my own network.
It's crazy.
I called Verizon twice and they seemed very un helpful when I mentioned Linux.
Can someone out there help me connect to my own provider.

Thanks
Guest
 

Re: Connecting to Internet

Postby ektoric » Sat Nov 22, 2008 6:34 pm

Do you have any other computers connecting to your router via wireless?
What are the security settings on your wireless router? WEP40 / WEP128 / WPA / WPA2?
When you click on Neighborhood, what do you see?
ektoric
Support Team
 
Posts: 470
Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2008 3:46 pm
Location: Austin, TX

Re: Connecting to Internet

Postby Goatview » Sat Nov 22, 2008 7:27 pm

Guest wrote:I'm having major problems accessing my own Westell Versalink327W Verizon router.
I can go on the Neighborhood and access someone elses wireless service but not my own network.
It's crazy.
I called Verizon twice and they seemed very un helpful when I mentioned Linux.
Can someone out there help me connect to my own provider.

Thanks


Try putting this in your address window and hitting enter:

192.168.1.1

If you get to the Verizon page, click on Wireless Setup at the top.

If it wants a login and password, use admin/password.

Look down the list in the next page and write down the settings then start changing them to see if anything makes the XO communicate with the router. I have an ASUSEEE Linux that kept requiring me to reenter the WEP code so I got in and disabled it. If your XO works with the WEP disabled, then maybe Verizon can figure out what you can do to make the XO communicate with the WEP on. Worth a try anyway, if you haven't already done all this.

Also, I think I have the same router as you have and a recent brief power outage made me get on the phone with Verizon for over an hour resetting the thing doing stuff I'd never done but at the end it worked (the router wasn't communicating with my Windows puters OR the Linux). Don't lose heart--you might need to call until you get a better tech but try those steps first just to see.
Goatview
 
Posts: 79
Joined: Wed Jan 09, 2008 1:17 pm
Location: Mason, Texas

Re: Connecting to Internet

Postby sapo » Sun Nov 23, 2008 11:16 am

I was the one that posted this question. I have a nickname now.

I can connect to my wireless by disabling the firewall but shouldn't I be able to connect using my password when the firewall is on?

What could be the problem?
Thanks
sapo
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Nov 22, 2008 5:40 pm

Re: Connecting to Internet

Postby Goatview » Sun Nov 23, 2008 11:42 am

sapo wrote:I was the one that posted this question. I have a nickname now.

I can connect to my wireless by disabling the firewall but shouldn't I be able to connect using my password when the firewall is on?

What could be the problem?
Thanks


I used up my entire store of knowledge on the subject in my last post--sorry. Glad you are able to get online now however you did it.

Good luck!
Goatview
 
Posts: 79
Joined: Wed Jan 09, 2008 1:17 pm
Location: Mason, Texas

Re: Connecting to Internet

Postby sapo » Sun Nov 23, 2008 12:39 pm

To goatview,
Thanks for the input .
I'll try your suggestions. I am so happy with this little laptop, it's like a Christas toy I gave myself.
I wish I had more money to buy and give some more.
I can imagine the joy it must bring the person that got the donated one.
sapo
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Nov 22, 2008 5:40 pm

Re: Connecting to Internet

Postby ncarrol » Tue Nov 25, 2008 11:49 pm

See wiki topic: http://wiki.laptop.org/go/Wifi_Connectivity under Verizon. See under Debug Notes about removing network.cfg to clear any old passwords or codes.

Also, see section on AT&T's ActionTec modem.
ncarrol
 
Posts: 367
Joined: Mon Aug 25, 2008 12:38 am

Re: Connecting to Internet

Postby 2grandparents » Tue Dec 02, 2008 3:54 pm

How do we connect our XO to the internet? We tried the "Help" page but it didn't help. We go to the Neighborhood and click, but it requires an Access Point name. How do we get an Access Point name?
Thank you in advance.
2grandparents
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Dec 02, 2008 3:49 pm

Re: Connecting to Internet

Postby ektoric » Tue Dec 02, 2008 4:22 pm

It sounds like you are having trouble "getting started".
http://laptop.org/gettingstarted

I think you are having issues "getting connected"
http://laptop.org/gettingstarted/connecting

Perhaps you're still having trouble after going through the Getting Started guide. Try troubleshooting it.
http://laptop.org/gettingstarted/troubleshooting

You seem to be asking the question "What if I cannot get online?"
Was the entry able to answer your question?
ektoric
Support Team
 
Posts: 470
Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2008 3:46 pm
Location: Austin, TX

Re: Connecting to Internet

Postby 2grandparents » Tue Dec 02, 2008 5:12 pm

ektoric wrote:It sounds like you are having trouble "getting started".
http://laptop.org/gettingstarted

I think you are having issues "getting connected"
http://laptop.org/gettingstarted/connecting

Perhaps you're still having trouble after going through the Getting Started guide. Try troubleshooting it.
http://laptop.org/gettingstarted/troubleshooting

You seem to be asking the question "What if I cannot get online?"
Was the entry able to answer your question?


Thank you, but, how do we get a "key" to our WiFi Access Point? Our Access Points are all locked, so we can't get onto the internet.
Thanks.
2grandparents
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Dec 02, 2008 3:49 pm

Re: Connecting to Internet

Postby ektoric » Tue Dec 02, 2008 6:34 pm

Unfortunately that is between you and your access point owner. Who owns your access point? Is this at a public hotspot? Are you at home trying to access your neighbor's? This is a generic wifi question, and not something the XO can help with :(
ektoric
Support Team
 
Posts: 470
Joined: Wed Jan 02, 2008 3:46 pm
Location: Austin, TX

Re: Connecting to Internet

Postby jimm1909 » Thu May 20, 2010 3:59 am

Goatview wrote:
Guest wrote:I'm having major problems accessing my own Westell Versalink327W Verizon router.
I can go on the Neighborhood and access someone elses wireless service but not my own network.
It's crazy.
I called Verizon twice and they seemed very un helpful when I mentioned Linux.
Can someone out there help me connect to my own provider.
Cheap Shared Web Hosting
Thanks


Try putting this in your address window and hitting enter:
Premium Shared Web Hosting
192.168.1.1

If you get to the Verizon page, click on Wireless Setup at the top.

If it wants a login and password, use admin/password.

Look down the list in the next page and write down the settings then start changing them to see if anything makes the XO communicate with the router. I have an ASUSEEE Linux that kept requiring me to reenter the WEP code so I got in and disabled it. If your XO works with the WEP disabled, then maybe Verizon can figure out what you can do to make the XO communicate with the WEP on. Worth a try anyway, if you haven't already done all this.

Also, I think I have the same router as you have and a recent brief power outage made me get on the phone with Verizon for over an hour resetting the thing doing stuff I'd never done but at the end it worked (the router wasn't communicating with my Windows puters OR the Linux). Don't lose heart--you might need to call until you get a better tech but try those steps first just to see.


Goatview- thank you for your info.. saved me. I'd been looking for a solution for this problem for a while so I am glad I stumbled upon this thread.

thanks again,

-jim
jimm1909
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu May 20, 2010 3:57 am


Return to Networking / Internet

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

cron