Common Issue: Wireless Connectivity Questions

Discuss solutions for wired and wireless usage for sharing and Internet connectivity.

Common Issue: Wireless Connectivity Questions

Postby mburns » Sun Dec 30, 2007 12:32 am

This thread is a work in progress and is kept up to date by the OLPC Support Gang.

This thread is to cover all the useful information about connection to wireless networks, access points, WEP, WPA and other connectivity-related issues with the XO laptop.

Status of wireless on build 650
Normal: OK
WEP: ...hex-password
WPA: BROKEN (See manual method) - Update.1

Related Trac Bugs:
mburns
Support Team

WPA WiFi manual fix procedure

Postby GLOW » Mon Dec 31, 2007 5:38 pm

WPA WiFi
manual fix

Q: Why does script have to be loaded from USB device?
I downloaded it directly to the XO and see it in my Journal.
Can I run it? If so, what commands do I enter to do so?

Thanks, I am new to this technology!
GLOW

Re: Common Issue: Wireless Connectivity Questions

Postby matt91 » Sat Feb 02, 2008 8:30 am

Does build 656 fully implement WPA support?
matt91

Postby ffm » Sun Feb 10, 2008 1:22 pm

matt91 wrote:Does build 656 fully implement WPA support?

Yes.
OLPC Support Volunteer
ffm
Support Team

Postby herbert » Mon Feb 11, 2008 4:45 pm

ffm wrote:

Yes.

fully? My question is does it allow for the usuage of WPA enterprise.

I was trying to log into my school network, which is WPA 2 Enterprise, but it wouldn't even show up in the neighborhood, despite being non-hidden. We (a physics major, a comp sci major, a math major and myself - the non-tech) spent two hours trying to get it to work. It was entertaining, but we couldn't even get it to acknowledge that the network existed.

H
herbert

Postby ffm » Mon Feb 11, 2008 6:04 pm

herbert wrote:
ffm wrote:

Yes.

fully? My question is does it allow for the usuage of WPA enterprise.