Removing auto-login to home network

Discuss solutions for wired and wireless usage for sharing and Internet connectivity.

Removing auto-login to home network

Postby jennifer's dad » Sat Oct 03, 2009 11:58 am

My daughter has outgrown her original-model XO and we will be sending it on to another family. Many moons ago I set it to automatically connect to our home wireless network -- which I now want to remove.

Can anyone advise how to undo what I did back then? I don't want the new owner connecting to our network. Any advice appreciated -- thanks!
jennifer's dad
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Jan 12, 2008 2:34 pm
Location: Atlanta

Re: Removing auto-login to home network

Postby ncarrol » Sat Oct 03, 2009 12:32 pm

If you have the lastest software update (later than 8.0) then use the Control Panel (menu choice under X man), and under Network select "Discard network history".

You can also remove a file : networks.cfg . The above does this for you. If you have an older software, you must do this manually. The file is :

/home/olpc/.sugar/default/nm/networks.cfg

If you want to really clean the XO, do a clean install. This will leave the XO in the "latest and greatest" for the new user. It is a simple task if you have a PC on the network and a USB drive. See:

http://wiki.laptop.org/go/No-fail_update
ncarrol
 
Posts: 367
Joined: Mon Aug 25, 2008 12:38 am


Return to Networking / Internet

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests

cron