deleting multiple journal entries

Share uncovered secrets, useful notes, guides and hacks!

deleting multiple journal entries

Postby chricton » Thu Mar 20, 2008 7:27 pm

I admit. I am quite new to Sugar and the OLPC, but I've figured out several things except: How can I delete more than one journal entry at a time?
chricton

Re: deleting multiple journal entries

Postby franco » Sun Mar 23, 2008 8:09 pm

Perhaps someone will answer this with the magic bullet for you, but the only way I know is described below

The Journal is designed, as far as I know, only for one at a time deleting (for the average user).

The journal entries are kept in the directory store. If you know linux, then you can find it, but the entries are coded files and you won't know what you are actually deleting without doing some more linux digging. If you want to clear everything out, then you can do that and the store directory will be recreated when you do a new boot. If you don't know enough linux to be comfortable doing this, then forget it. It is safer to delete the entries one at at time in Journal.

Journal will delete older entries itself when it fills up and newer entries are added. It's only two mouse clicks, several for each delete, 16-20 a minute, doing it via the Journal. And it allows you to be selective.
If I give advice it is usually because I did it / tested it successfully on my XO. I will warn you otherwise.
franco
Support Team

Postby chricton » Mon Mar 24, 2008 4:52 pm

Thank you. That is pretty much what I came to understand as well. Now if I could become more comfortable with the mousepad. Years of Thinkpad trackpoint usage and i wonder how anyone could like the mousepad. But hen, that is what tey say about the trackpoint. :D
chricton

Postby franco » Thu Mar 27, 2008 11:24 pm